Sneaker trend is going strong for Spring ’16

Photo courtesy of Adidas
Photo courtesy of Adidas

Back in the fifth or sixth grade, I remember owning a pair of trendy white sneakers. They were a knock-off for this classic Adidas sneaker, which donned three glittery baby blue stripes along the side. They were the “it” item at the time, and all of my friends had a pair in varying stripe colors. I only owned the one pair, and once they were beat, so was the trend.

Or, so I thought.

At the start of the new year, celebrities such as Kendall Jenner and Gigi Hadid began to sport the dead trend in a very fashion-forward way. Before I knew it, fashion girls all over were substituting the sneaker for the heel. Even Victoria Beckham, booming fashion designer and former Spice Girl, has opted for its comfort and arch support over her trusty heels.

I shouldn’t say that I am surprised; I was fairly warned of the constant repetition of trends by my mother, who is never too shy to point out that the wide-legged pants and bell-shaped sleeves I’m currently obsessing over emit major 70s vibes. She would always tell me that, after some time, pieces will come back, and with a vengeance.

This current sneaker trend, however, has got me in a pinch. Do I dare relive those elementary days and purchase a new pair for myself? Or, do I cross my fingers and hope that it passes quickly and returns to the depths of the fashion hell it came from? I can say that, for now, I am not quite sold on the idea of the sneaker for a night out, as it appears almost tacky and a little unbecoming.

But for those of you jumping for joy at the prospect of a comfortable fashion shoe, the sneaker is a pretty versatile item. Pair it with leggings for an athleisure look, or check out this slideshow to see how fashion girls are doing it.

It seems as though this trend is staying for a while, but I remain on the fence for this one, so for now, I will continue to be an observer in this (personally) cringe-worthy fashion moment.

“Fashion has always been a repetition of ideas, but what makes it new is the way you put it together.” -Carolina Herrera

Leave a Reply

